

PRESS RELEASE

Date: 30th October 2017 **Ref:** n. 12 \ 2017

To: The International Boating Press, Nautical Industry, UIM National Authorities, UIM Council Members, UIM Promoters and Partners.

90th UIM General Assembly, Budva, Montenegro

The 90th General Assembly of the International Powerboat Federation (UIM), held in Budva under the chairmanship of President Raffaele Chiulli, assembled 130 National Federation delegates who had travelled from around the globe to Montenegro. During one week the members of the UIM Council and the various Commissions, Committees and Working Groups reviewed the current season's international racing activities, elaborated the rule changes to be implemented in the 2018 season, and finalized the outlines of the 2018 International Powerboat Racing Calendar.



Next Powerboat Generation in the focus

In his opening address, President, Dr. Raffaele Chiulli underlined the untiring efforts the UIM was deploying in the area of Youth Development which have led to the opening of UIM Propstars Training Centres in Europe, Asia, USA and in the Middle East. The presentation of new Training Manuals in the Circuit, Offshore and Aquabike disciplines was warmly welcomed by the Member Federations for who this was the perfect tool to join forces with the International Federation in the promotion of the UIM Propstars Programme.

President Chiulli also outlined the significant role the UIM was playing within the Inter-Governmental Organization level and beyond, citing the recent pioneering agreement reached with the UNESCO, to collaborate and develop a practical toolkit for the implementation of the Kazan Action Plan (KAP), which will serve as an example for national and international Sports Federations at large.



Elections and new Members

Six of the 17 Council seats were up for election in Budva. Five new officials were elected and one re-elected Administrator joined President Raffaele Chiulli in the UIM Council: Huraiz Bin Huraiz (UAE), Denis Dillon (IRL), Davor Hundic (CRO), Gordon Sutherland (UK) and Jerzy Wojewoda (POL), with Peter Bardenheuer (GER) extending his administrator position for another 4-year term. Peter Bardenheuer was also confirmed as chairman of the Pleasure & Navigation Commission until 2020.

The UIM Council promoted long standing member and UIM Vice President Fred Hauenstein (USA) to UIM Senior Vice-President, while Jean-Marc Giraldi (MCO) was appointed UIM Vice-President.

The UIM General Assembly accepted applications for full UIM membership from the *Danmarks Motor Union* (DMU) and approved the applications of China Macau and *Nederlandse Motorboat Rensport* (NMR) to become UIM Corresponding Members, bringing it to a total of 61 affiliated countries.

In the final vote of the day, the Lebanese National Authority was awarded the hosting of the 91st UIM General Assembly in Beirut, in October 2018.

Composition of the UIM Council as from 22nd October 2017

UIM COUNCIL



Raffaele Chiulli President Italy

Administrators:

Fred Hauenstein	Senior Vice-President	U.S.A
Jean-Marc Giraldi	Vice-President	Monaco
Christer Gustafsson	Treasurer	Sweden
Peter Bardenheuer	Administrator	Germany
Huraiz Bin Huraiz	Administrator	U.A.E
Denis Dillon	Administrator	Ireland
Davor Hundic	Administrator	Croatia
Vahur Joala	Administrator	Estonia
Yunis Lukmanov	Administrator	Russia
Ivan Motta	Administrator	Switzerland
Denise Preece	Administrator	New Zealand
Luis Miguel Ribeiro	Administrator	Portugal
Gordon Sutherland	Administrator	United Kingdom
Jean-Marie Van Lancker	Administrator	Belgium
Mark Wheeler / Howey Nichols (as from Nov.1st)	President APBA	U.S.A
Jerzy Wojewoda	Administrator	Poland



Thomas Kurth	Secretary General (non-voting)	Switzerland
Kimon Papachristopoulos	Legal Advisor to Council (non-voting)	Greece/Germany
Commission Presidents:		
Peter Bardenheuer	Pleasure Navigation President	Germany
Fred Hauenstein	Cominsport President	U.S.A
Mikael Lundblad	Comintech President	Sweden
Jean-Marie Van Lancker	Cominoff President	Belgium
Robert Wartinger	Cominsafe President	U.S.A
Committee Presidents:		
Giacomo Borgonovi	Formulae Chairman	Italy
Luca Filiberti	Aquabike Chairman	Italy
Fred Hauenstein	Formula 1 Chairman	U.S.A
Michela Lauta	Equality Committee Chairwoman	Italy
Petr Pylaev	Formula Future Chairman	Russia
Tom Stanley	Safety Cockpit Chairman	Canada
Marit Stromoy	Athletes Committee Chairwoman	Norway
Manuel Gonzalez Pando	IBC President	Spain