Charlie D. Strang Ultimate Service Award

The Charles D. Strang Ultimate Service Award, developed in 2010, is given to one individual who exemplifies the highest standards of devotion and accomplishment for the benefit of the APBA through unselfish service to APBA as has been uniquely set by Charles D Strang during his more than seven decades of continuous membership in our organization. This award will be presented annually by the President of APBA at the conclusion of the annual Honor Squadron Ceremony.

Any candidate for this honor must meet the following minimum requirements:

- 1. The candidate must be a current member of APBA and the Honor Squadron of the APBA, and must have met these requirements during the 9 years preceding the year of candidacy.
- 2. The candidate must have been active in unselfish beneficial service to APBA without deriving financial benefits related to these services, for the 10 years preceding his candidacy.

The recipient of the award will be selected by a committee chaired by the President of APBA and will be structured as described below.

- A. The selection committee will consist of the President of APBA, the Vice-President of APBA, and the three most recent award recipients.
- B. The award need not be given each year.

The selection of the honoree will take place in a telephone meeting arranged by the President at a time convenient for all Selection Committee Members. The chairman will have the same voting rights as all members of the committee and in the case of a tie, his vote will serve as the tie-breaker. The name of the honoree will not be made public until the award ceremony, i.e. the same policy as used for Honor Squadron honorees will be applied.

The Award is a gleaming Herring 5-blade propeller, mounted on a wooden plaque with the winner's name embossed in metal.

There will be a take home award provided for the first recipient and all recipients thereafter for at least 10 years and will be entirely funded by Barbara Strang.

Award Recipients

2010	George Buddy Byers, Jr.	London OH
2011	Craig Dewald	Reading PA
2012	R Steven Hearn	Leesburg IN
2013	Edgar Rose	Glencoe IL
2014	Bruce Broussard	Morgan City LA
2015	Fred Miller	Lake Villa IL
2016	Sally Titus	Lake Placid FL