All things
power boat racing...

1998 HS Inductees

Bud ParkerParker began racing in 1943 in Troy, OH, winning a wildcat race in a 12’ Wagemaker powered by a 22hp Evinrude.  WWII military service put racing on hold but in 1953, Bud returned to racing with the Belle Isle Outboard Club, winning the first marathon he entered in F Utility. In 1954 he began racing D Utility and became Commodore of the Belle Isle Club in 1955. An engineer, Bud opened his own Outboard machine shop in 1957 where he developed four-pipe open megaphones for wildcat and Stock-Alky racers. This led to the manufacture of stick tower housings, accessories, and the highly successful Parker converging stack system for Mercury racing engines. He ran D and F Alky in addition to D Stock and Mod Hydro, winning the Canadian Guinness Cup in the late 1960s. He also developed his own Parker Looper Alky engines to compete with the Quincy-Mercs. At his first major event as a technical inspector, the 1974 Stock Outboard Nationals, Bud worked long hours on an incredible 800-plus entries. With Jim Robb, Sr., he raced Mod Outboard from 1975-85.  At age 65, Bud smoked the D Hydro competition in his last Mod race.  He continued to support racers with parts and engines, guidance and support. Bud Parker is a dedicated example of the best of APBA Outboard racing.
Eugene "Gene" WhippWhipp of Sarasota, FL, past Chairman of the Offshore Racing Commission, started racing in 1959 in the 48 cubic inch Hydro class.  He drove as many as four classes at the same regatta and barely had time to take off his life jacket and helmet, jumping from boat to boat. He was a winner in every class: 1968 Divisional and National Champion, 225 ci Hydro; 1969 High Point Champion, 280 ci Hydro; 1971 and 1972 National and World Champion, 7 Litre Hydro.  Whipp won his only Unlimited race, the 1973 President’s Cup Regatta in Washington, DC driving the Lincoln Thrift.  He moved to Offshore, where he became very active as a driver and then as an official.  He won the 1984 Offshore Class VI Championship and set a 1988 World Kilo Record in Class Sportsman A at 84.310 mph. Throughout Gene’s racing career he also refereed in the Inboard, Unlimited and Offshore categories. Gene helped found the Dayton Motor Boat Racing Association and spearheaded the Dayton Hydrobowl regattas. After moving to Florida, Gene started the Sarasota Offshore Power Boat Grand Prix Races, which raised funds for the handicapped for years. By no means a complete list of Gene’s accomplishments, this reflects his deep love and personal involvement in power boat racing.  He was a credit to our sport.
Mildred FoulkeFoulke of Essex, MD, was the widow of 1961 Honor Squadron inductee Frank Foulke.  Labeled the “Queen of Speed” by Speed and Spray, Mildred was certainly the woman behind the man.  She hauled their boats to the races while Frank attended to business.  Mildred and Frank together took 38 World Records, all with a souped-up Plymouth or Studebaker engine.  She raced in the 225 Hydro, D Racing Runabout and the 266 Hydro classes.  With much less weight, Millie could get added speed.  Her beautiful Sagana 266 cubic inch Hydro was the boat to beat.  In 1953 Mildred and Frank were both inducted into the 100 MPH Club; the first husband and wife to be inducted at the same time.  She was the first woman to top 100 MPH in a racing boat, putting Sagana 13 through the trap at an average speed of 111.289 mph in 1953.  Mildred was a continuous and loyal member of APBA, and a goodwill ambassador from 1939 until her death.  As stated in Ripley’s Believe it or Not, Mildred and Frank Foulke were the First Family of power boat racing.
W. Dean Wilson, Sr.Wilson participated in boat racing for over 40 years as a driver, race promoter and APBA officer.  He first competed in what is now the PRO category, in F Outboard Hydros. In the early 1970s he dominated Regions 6, 7 and 8 in High Points; twice he won the Jack Maypole Award, and was inducted into the Evinrude 100 MPH Outboard Club.  In the 1960s he developed a waterproof wiring connector for Outboard motors.  In the 1980s he designed and built the first 100% composite 6 Litre Inboard Hydroplane with a reinforced cockpit.  As Region 12 Chairman he implemented multi-category sanctions that helped increase boat counts.  He was an Inboard Commissioner, PRO Commissioner, and Race Director for the PRO Nationals.  His four sons also won titles, set records and served APBA.  Dean, Sr. always gave of his expertise, friendship and allegiance to APBA.  He helped to form the rules and regulations governing the sport today.