All things
power boat racing...

1974 HS Inductees

Donald J. AronowAronow was twice Offshore World Champion and three times APBA National Champion, as well as holding numerous records in both diesel and gasoline powered craft.  He built most of the ocean racing boats bearing the names of Donzi, Formula, Magnum and the dominant Cigarette Racing Team, which collectively have won ocean races worldwide.  He was awarded the UIM Gold Medal in 1969.
John ValachovicValachovic starting in 1948 as an owner and driver in Stock Outboard classes, John remained most active in the sport, serving in many official capacities at the local, regional and national levels.  He was APBA’s Chief Measurer form 1963-67, and was awarded the John Mulford Trophy in 1966 for outstanding contributions to North American power boat racing.  He was instrumental in fostering Canadian-American power boat racing.
James R. WynneWynnewas active as an Offshore competitor in power boat racing from 1946 until his retirement in 1967, holding the World title in 1964 and 1966. He won ocean races worldwide, establishing many records as well as designing most of the outstanding Offshore racing craft bearing internationally recognized names.  He pioneered gas turbine powered craft and held patents on the first commercially successful stern drive.  He also served as a design consultant to many major boat builders incorporating features developed in competition, and was awarded the UIM Gold Medal in 1966.