All things
power boat racing...

1970 HS Inductees

Albert A. BauerFor 35 years he was perhaps the most active announcer and referee of APBA races, handling over 300 such events.  He was Region 3 Chairman for some 10 years, APBA Treasurer for several terms and Vice President in 1947-48.  The following year he narrowly missed election to the APBA presidency.  Through officiating and announcing over PA systems, radio and television, he became identified with the sport by thousands of competitors and spectators.
Homer KincaidKincaid recorded over 40 years of active participation as an Outboard race driver.  He won the Townsend Medal for national High Points in 1965 and 1967, and was national champion in AR, BR, BH, CH, CSH and CSR.  He won the UIM John Ward International Trophy for CH at Bradenton FL in 1962.  He served as Outboard Vice President in 1965, 1966 and 1967.  Possibly his greatest accomplishment was winning first place in every Outboard hydro and runabout class at the Rome IN regatta on July 24, 1960.
Wayne ThompsonUntil severely injured while driving his 266 hydro at San Diego in June 1969, he had raced successfully for 28 years.  Starting with championships in his Marauder, he went on to win the 150 class championship many times, set both competition and kilo records for the class, and retired the Pop Cooper Trophy for multiple fastest heat times throughout the years.  He also held the 225 kilo record and was a past national 266 class champion.  Above all, he was known as a true sportsman.