All things
power boat racing...

1962 HS Inductees

Clarence E. LovejoyFormer boating editor and columnist for the New York Times, ardent yachtsman and guidance counselor, helped popularize Cruiser Predicted Log contests.  He promoted APBA and powerboat racing for over 40 years.  Lovejoy chaired APBA’s Press Advisory and Public Relations committees and served on many other committees.
Joseph TaggertTaggert began racing Outboards in 1928, switched to Inboards in 1934 and drove many classes, including Unlimited.  Taggart won the 1953 Gold Cup in Slo-Mo-Shun IV, and set mile and competition records.  His driving skill was matched by many engineering contributions to the sport, including the tail rudder.  He served on various racing commissions and committees and was an Unlimited Referee.
Bud WigetWiget participated in more Outboard regattas than most APBA members.  He began racing in 1932, and won many trophies year after year, setting over 40 APBA and UIM records and inspired youngsters to achieve higher goals ever since.  He served on the Outboard Racing Commission (for two years as Vice President), and on the Outboard Technical Committee, among many contributions to the sport.