All things
power boat racing...

1960 HS Inductees

John L. HackerAn internationally known naval architect, closely identified with speed on the water since 1900, Hacker introduced the revolutionary wide stern design.  Over 1,000 boats came from his drawing board.  Hacker was best known for creating some of the fastest race crafts in the country, including the Unlimited hydroplane El Lagarto, winner of the Gold Cup three years in a row.
Harold I. JohnsonDesigner of propellers that made possible the high speeds that Inboard hydroplanes and runabouts of all classes are achieving.  Johnson introduced the surfacing propeller which, coupled with modern hulls, set new speed records in rapid succession.