All things
power boat racing...

1959 HS Inductees

Gibson BradfieldOne of the most colorful and active campaigners in the history of Inboard hydroplane racing.  Bradfield’s Buckeye Baby boats were always in the front ranks, from the heyday of the 91 and 151 ci hydros (late 1920s and ’30s) to the prewar period when the 225 Div. 1 hydros were the most spectacular class nationwide.  A past president of APBA, Bradfield also served as race official at major regattas after he retired from driving.
Bill CantrellWinner of the Gold Cup in 1949, Cantrell had competed in more Gold Cup races than any other driver.  Before he became a constant campaigner with the Gale Unlimited racing teams, Cantrell was a longtime winner in the 725 ci hydroplane class and other Limited Inboard classes.
C. Mulford Scull 

     One of the great Outboard race drivers in the 1930s, after World War II Scull and his Shooting Star race boats were outstanding in the Limited inboard classes.  Scull captured three Class C Hydro National Championships, and died at the wheel of his Inboard hydro in 1953 after almost 30 years of competition coast to coast.