APBA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

TELECONFERENCE

JULY 21, 2015

- 1. The meeting was called to order by President Mark Wheeler at 8:15 PM.
- 2. Roll call was taken. In attendance were: President Mark Wheeler, Vice-President Dutch Squires, Charles Strang, Dave Augustine, Howie Nichols, Jean McKay-Schwartz, Ernie Dawe, Frad Hauenstien, Robin Shane, Bill Thompson, Jan Shaw, Rick Sandstrom, Kristi Ellison, Jose Mendana, Steve Hearn, Mary Williams, Ryan Berlin, Adam Allen, Penn Anderson, Jeff Conant, Rich Fuschlin, Pat Gleason, Alex Jennings III, Jack Meyer, Mark Weber, Ted Kolby, Ann Shaw, Steve Barrett, Jeff Titus, Roger Carr, and Carleton Callahan. Jan Shaw reported that Gloria Crimm, per Region 11 bylaws, has become the new Region 11 Chair due to the death of Bill Boyes. Ms. Crimm was in attendance and recognized as the Region 11 Chair.
- 3. Rick Sandstrom requested that "Other Matters" be added to the Agenda. This was added between Item #6 and #7. Motion by Rick Sandstrom, seconded by Fred Hauenstein to approve the amended agenda. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Fred Hauenstein provided a correction to the minutes from the June 11, 2015 meeting. Under Item #6, in the last paragraph, President Wheeler's comment for the record on how he would have voted should have been placed after the vote, not before.

The minutes as presented:

President Wheeler requested a roll call vote be taken and expressed for the record, that if he was voting, his vote would be No. Voting yes were Dutch Squires, Howie Nichols, Jean McKay-Schwartz, Ernie Dawe, Robin Shane, Bill Thompson, and Jan Shaw. Voting no were Dave Augustine, Fred Hauenstein, Charlie Strang, and Rick Sandstrom. Motion passed 7 in favor, 4 against.

The minutes as corrected should read:

President Wheeler requested a roll call vote be taken. Voting yes were Dutch Squires, Howie Nichols, Jean McKay-Schwartz, Ernie Dawe, Robin Shane, Bill Thompson, and Jan Shaw. Voting no were Dave Augustine, Fred Hauenstein, Charlie Strang, and Rick Sandstrom. Motion passed 7 in favor, 4 against. Following the vote, President Wheeler expressed for the record, that if he was voting, his vote would be No.

Motion by Rick Sandstrom, seconded by Fred Hauenstein to approve the minutes as corrected. Motion passed unanimously. The secretary will make the correction to the minutes.

5. Motion by Rick Sandstrom to table Item #5 until a Committee can look into the items not addressed previously, before action proceeded. Seconded by Robin Shane. After discussion, President Wheeler requested a roll call vote be taken. Voting yes were Dutch Squires, Robin Shane, Bill Thompson, Jan Shaw, and Rick Sandstrom. Voting no were Charlie Strang, Dave Augustine, Howie Nichols, Jean McKay-Schwartz, Ernie Dawe, Fred Hauenstein, and Kristi Ellison. The motion failed 5 in favor, 7 against.

Motion by Ernie Dawe to revisit and rescend the motion to combine the Inboard runabouts with the Inboard Endurance category which passed at the 06-11-15 Board of Directors meeting. Seconded by Dave Augustine. Legal Counsel Steve Hearn advised that the Board could not rescend the motion, they would need to revote it. Motion was retracted.

Motion by Ernie Dawe to place the Inboard runabouts back in the Inboard category and out of Inboard Endurance. Seconded by Dave Augustine. After extensive discussion, Dave Augustine called the question. President Wheeler requested a roll call vote be taken. Voting yes were Charlie Strang, Dave Augustine, Howie Nichols, Jean McKay-Schwartz, Ernie Dawe, Fred Hauenstiein, and Kristi Ellison. Voting no were Dutch Squires, Robin Shane, Bill Thompson, Jan Shaw and Rick Sandstrom. The motion passed 7 in favor and 5 against. IRC Chairman Mark Weber then stated that the IRC will be doing a survey on flatbottoms. The survey should be out soon.

Bill Thompson requested a clarification of the motion just passed. He questioned whether the rules and mandates follow this move. Motion by Jean McKay-Swartz that all associated rules and capsule mandate will revert back to the Inboard Category. Seconded by Dave Augustine. President Wheeler requested a roll call vote be taken. All present voted yes. Motion passed unanimously.

6. Motion by Howie Nichols to reimburse Jeff Brewster \$474.50 for expenses in providing a 302SSH display at the Madison race. Seconded by Robin Shane. After discussion, Mr. Nichols amended his motion to add the Board of Directors would provide matching funds up to 50% of the \$474.50 for Jeff Brewster's expenses at the Madison race. The motion passed 11 in favor and 1 against.

A discussion was then help on setting parameters for future requests such as this one. President Wheeler suggested that the Finance Committee and the Promotions Committee look at this. Dutch Squires requested that the Board require pre-approval, rather than approvals after the fact. Howie Nichols recommended that these types of requests should be sent to the appropriate commissions for funding. Jeff Conant suggested that APBA could possibly provide help in how to do promotions such as that done at Madison and parameters on funding.

President Wheeler requested that each Board of Director send suggestions on this and he would form a committee moving forward.

7. There being no further business, a motion was made by Fred Hauenstein, seconded by Dave Augustine to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 9:17 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Williams

APBA Secretary